Joyce out of Galway panel

by Michelle Fortune , 26 April 2012

Nicky Joyce has been omitted from the Galway senior football panel for the upcomong championship.

Joyce was key member of Alan Mulholland's panel for the Allianz Football League but his name was not included in the 31-man squad for the championship due to his inability to commit to the Tribesmen.

"Nicky was with us for the league campaign. However, he is not in a position to give a commitment at the moment to inter-county football and therefore he has been released from the squad," Mulholland explained.

Padraic Joyce and Gareth Bradshaw have both been named in the 31-man panel despite carrying injuries, while Mulholland has also called on Michael Meehan and Sean Armstrong with the likes of Cathal Kenny and Donal O'Neill both omitted.

"Other players such as Cathal Kenny, Johnny Ryan and Donal O' Neill, who all got some game time in our league games, are not on the panel either. These are the tough decisions. We can only carry a championship panel of 31 and that is what we have picked," Mulholland added.

Galway (Connacht SFC squad): A Faherty, C Forde, C Doherty, C Bane, D Burke, D Cummins, D Blake, F Hanley, F O'Curraoin, G Bradshaw, G O'Donnell, G Sice, G Sweeney, G Higgins, J Bergin, J Duane, J Moore, K Kelly, K McGrath, M Breathnach, M Hehir, M Boyle, M Martin, M Meehan, N Coleman, P Joyce, P Conroy, P O'Griofa, S Armstrong, T Flynn, T Fahy.

How To Watch

On your laptop, desktop
or mobile device


Setanta Sports on

Includes access to


Setanta Sports on


Edit Web Part Contents